IOC PhD scholarships 

Fecha de publicación: 07/04/2021
Fuente: Comité Oleícola Internacional
Lugar: Sin categoría
As part of its technical cooperation and training programme, the International Olive Council (IOC) has awarded four PhD scholarships to students from its member countries for a period of four years dedicated to scientific research.
These scholarships aim to encourage technology transfer, and the sharing of information and research results in the field of olive cultivation, olive technology and standardisation activities among member countries.
In order to launch the PhD programme and inform IOC officials of the scholarship holders’ countries about their thesis topics, the Executive Secretariat will organise a videoconference on 8 April 2021 at 11:00 am, in which the fellows and their supervisors will participate.
It should be noted that all proposed research topics are related to the objectives of the International Agreement on Olive Oil and Table Olives 2015 (
Below is an overview of each thesis:
Scholar: Andrea DEL SAZ LARA
Theme: Standardisation and research
Subject: Epigenomic consequences of hydroxytyrosol consumption in cardiometabolic diseases
Thesis directors: Francesco Visioli & Alberto Dával, Universidad de Castilla~La Mancha
Scholar: Laila AQBOUCH
Theme: Olive growing, olive il technology and technical cooperation
Subject: Bioinformatics and genomics for the olive tree adaptation to climate change: identification of markers associated with drought and chilling requirement for flowering in order to select the most suitable genotypes
Thesis directors: Stéphanie Bocs & Bouchaid Khadari, UMR AGAP Montpellier
Scholar: Akram CHARFI
Theme: Standardisation and research
Subject: Sécurité Alimentaire dans la Production des Huiles d’Olive Vierges
Thesis director: Sebastián Sánchez Villasclaras, Universidad de Jaén
Scholar: Rüstü Efe Değer
Theme: Olive growing, olive il technology and technical cooperation
Subject: Chilling requirements, genetic regulation and modelling of the flowering
process in olive cultivars (Olea europaea subsp. europaea var. sativa)
Thesis director: Diego Barranco Navero, Universidad de Cordoba
Congratulations to all scholarship holders.
The International Olive Council
The post  IOC PhD scholarships  appeared first on International Olive Council.